All-Round Care
Pastoral Care All-Round Care
A student-centred and holistic education.

Our holistic education system is directed towards building our students' full potential and all-round care is essential in developing the all-round person.

 

The core of Wycombe Abbey Schools' holistic education lies in our belief in the power of "Education Beyond the Classroom". To inspire each pupil to be an all-round person, we insist that each teacher should be an "all-round person". They should present themselves as good examples for our pupils to follow, with impressive professional accomplishments, great character and boundless energy. By guiding our pupils in all that they do, we encourage them to make continuous progress in their academic studies, in paying attention to their physical and mental health, in developing their social skills, interests and ambitions. Of course, pupils will not only learn from the good example of adults but also learn from their peers, individually and as part of a team, so that they benefit from a complete learning experience.

 

In class, cross-disciplinary learning, project-based learning, cooperative learning and inquiry learning activities build pupils' capacity for independence, teamwork and problem-solving. As an important supplement to academic study, extra-curricular activities (ECAs) and outward bound activities give each pupil abundant opportunities to experience new challenges in real life, through which they will learn how to communicate and cooperate with each other, analyse problems from different perspectives, develop their capacity for innovation and foster key aspects of their character, such as self-respect, confidence and perseverance. Facing diverse challenges both in and out of the classroom, pupils will develop in an all-round way and gain vital all-round life skills and values, including in relation to their academic studies, their physical and mental health, their empathy for others, their social and cultural identity, their enthusiasm for lifelong learning and self-reflection, their cross-cultural understanding and tolerance, their sense of adventure and their innovative spirit and their understanding of responsible global citizenship.

 

We want our graduates to be clearly aware of their goals in learning and life, to construct a personalised pathway for learning and development in line with their own needs and to be able to depend on their excellent all-round abilities to deal with unexpected problems and challenges in the rapidly changing future. Only those students who have such capabilities will be able to cope with the many changes and challenges of a very uncertain future world. We believe that the essence of education is to develop well-rounded people. We aim to help all our pupils become such well-rounded people and to realise their full capacity for excellence.

全人关怀
全人关顾体系 全人关怀
以能力培养为导向的全人教育体系 ,让教育回归育“人”本质

威雅全人教育的核心,在于我们深信“超越课堂教育”(Educating Beyond Class)的力量。在培养全面发展的人之前,首先就要求我们的每一位教师都是“全人”,他们以身作则,以专业的素养、高尚的品格、进取的精神,为学生们树立良好的榜样,在充分理解每一位学生的基础上不断激励他们,以获得在学业、身心、社交、志趣等方面的持续进步。当然,学生们将不仅仅从成年人的身上学习宝贵的品质,更将向身边的同龄人学习、在团队中成长,这是一种完整的教育教学体验,在耳濡目染之中,促进威雅学子的全方位成长。

在课堂之上,超学科、项目式、合作式与探究式学习方法,不断强化学生独立自主、团队合作以及解决实际问题的能力;作为学术学科的重要补充,威雅的延展课程、户外拓展、实践活动与机会,则为每一位学生创造了在现实中应对各种全新挑战的机会,他们将在此过程中学会与人沟通和合作,以多样化的视角剖析问题,培养开拓创新精神,养成独立、自尊、自信、坚毅等重要的品格特质。通过课堂内外的丰富挑战机遇与全方位锻炼,威雅学子将全面发展包括学术能力、身心健康、同理心、社会与文化的身份认同、终身学习与自我反思、跨文化理解与包容、探索与创新、全球公民意识等在内的受益终生的重要全人素养。

 

我们希望威雅的毕业学子,会清晰地知晓自己的求学与人生目标,并为自己构建完整的个性化的学习与发展路径,用优秀的综合能力素养应对种种难以预料到的突发问题与日益变化的未来世界。唯有具备如此能力的学生,才能找到一生的志趣方向与卓越所在,在一个充满高度不确定性、变动性与挑战性的未来世界,拥有“以不变应万变”的底气。